Scout of the Year

Some of our earliest ties to the community involve youth groups and perhaps none are stronger or more lasting than the relationship between the VFW and America’s scouting organizations. In fact, our partnership with the Boy Scouts of America dates back to 1915 when VFW Post 2100 helped to establish Troop 1 in Everett, Washington.

Our Scout of the Year program provides members of the Boy Scouts and Girl Scouts to be recognized for their standout citizenship, patriotism and love of country.

Before submitting your Scout of the Year application, please review the rules and eligibility requirements.

Please download the VFW Scout of the Year brochure and entry form to submit at your local VFW Post.

The State Chairman is Tom Drumm. He can be reached at
1st Place: $1,000 and citation
2nd Place: $750 and citation
3rd Place: $500 and citation
The state winner will be honored at the banquet at the VFW State Convention in Macon on Saturday, June 8, 2024.

Scouts who are registered, active members of a Boy or Girl Scout Troop, Venturing Crew, or a Sea Scout Ship who have received the Eagle Scout Award, Girl Scout Gold Award, Venture Summit Award or Sea Scout Quartermaster Award.

Scouts must be at least 15 years old and meet all other eligibility criteria.

The maximum age requirement for applicants is 18 years old and if an applicant reaches their 18th birthday during the nomination year they remain eligible as long as they are still in high school at the time of the submission deadline.

Scouts should download and submit a completed VFW Scouting Scholarship form, resume of high school activities, scouting record, community service record and letters of recommendation to a local VFW Post no later than March 1. Locate your local Post here.
Note: A Scout can enter through ONE VFW Post only.
  • Entry to Post by March 1
  • Post judging completed by March 31
  • Post winner submitted to Department by April 1
  • Department Judging completed by April 30
  • Department winner to National by May 1